Prof Subra Suresh
President and Distinguished University Professor
Nanyang Technological University
Subra Suresh
Subra Suresh
Professor Subra Suresh is President and Distinguished University Professor at Singapore’s Nanyang Technological University. He was previously president of Carnegie Mellon University, director of the National Science Foundation (NSF), and dean of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology’s School of Engineering, where he is the Vannevar Bush Professor of Engineering Emeritus.

His research into engineered and biological materials has been published in more than 300 scientific articles and 25 patent applications, and it has led to scientific discoveries and technological applications at the intersections of engineering, sciences and medicine. Among his many honors are the Benjamin Franklin Medal of the Franklin Institute, the European Materials Medal of the Federation of European Materials Societies, the Timoshenko and Nadai Medals from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, and the National Materials Advancement Award.

Suresh has been elected to the National Academy of Inventors, to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and to the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, one of only a small number of Americans elected to all three branches. He has also been elected to the French, German and Chinese Academies of Sciences and a number of other engineering and/or science academies around the world.

He has received several presidential honors: Presidential Young Investigator Award from the Reagan White House; nomination by President Barack Obama and unanimous confirmation by the U.S. Senate to serve as the director of NSF; and the Padma Shri award from the President of India, one the highest civilian honors from the Indian government.

Suresh has been selected to receive 15 honorary doctorate degrees from institutions in China, India, Russia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, UK and USA.